Saturday, 19 February 2011

6 Week Festival of Fun Begins

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the tenth Cricket World Cup and will be jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The World Cup will use Cricket's One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams competing.

The event will take place between 19th February and 2nd April 2011, with the first match to be played between co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

The first round of the tournament will be a round-robin in which the 14 teams are divided into 2 groups of 7 teams each. The 7 teams play each other once with the top 4 from each group qualifying for the quarter-finals.

The format ensures that each team gets to play a minimum of 6 matches even if they are ruled out of the tournament due to early defeats.

Teams qualified for the World Cup

Group A                       Group B

Australia                       Bangladesh
New Zealand                England
Pakistan                        India
Sri Lanka                      South Africa
Zimbabwe                    West Indies
Canada                         Ireland
Kenya                           Netherlands

The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team would be taking home a prize money of US$ 3 million and US$ 1.5 million for runner-up

This should be a entertaining event and will definitely interrupt my online grinding... hopefully not too much

For the Non Cricket Fans (probably 95% of readers) here is a clip of my favourite player Sanath Jayasuriya destroying England

Chevy/Ford/Mopar Polished Aluminum Rear View Mirror - Poker Suits

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...